AssemblyBoard
April 23, 2024, 02:41:02 pm *
The board has been closed to new content. It is available as a searchable archive only. This information will remain available indefinitely.

I can be reached at brian@tucker.name

For a repository of informational articles and current information on The Assembly, see http://www.geftakysassembly.com

Home   Search  
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: I still have questions: Q1 "Will I go to heaven?"  (Read 17112 times)
Arthur
« on: June 06, 2003, 02:17:17 am »

I still have a lot of questions after leaving the ga.  I may be asking some questions as if I'm a newbie, but I dare say that we all have doubts or puzzle about something at one time or another.

So here's one,

I think that I will go to heaven, but I want to be sure.  Answer me just one question:  

Does anything or everything that I do here on earth either affect or give indication of my status in heaven?

In other words, does was I do here on earth determine whether I will go to heaven or not?  And if it is heaven that I'm going to, will what I do here on earth determine how much I will enjoy it?
What if I take the mark?  What if I deny Jesus before men? etc.

Arthur
editor
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2003, 02:25:57 am »

Arthur

God soveriegnly chooses those who will "go to heaven."

I think there is plain evidence that you are one of the elect, so according to Romans 8, there is no condemnation and nothing that can seperate you from Him.

What you do on earth is not a pre-requisite to heaven, but only a result of being saved.

We are saved by grace, through faith, and that not of ourselves, it is a gift of God.

Brent
Arthur
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2003, 02:32:40 am »

So does that mean it doesn't matter how I live?  Is it ok for me to play video games instead of reading my Bible?  What if I take the mark?  What if I go bad and have only just been acting fairly good up till now because of my upbringing?  Will that show that I never was saved in the first place?